About LifeSciCoP


The partners of the Life Science Community of Practice (LifeSciCoP) are European research centres and university departments with the focus on life sciences. The individual members are professionals that are in a strategic position to change the culture of their institution (e.g. equality officer, chair or member of gender equality committee, training manager, HR staff, and management staff).


The mission of the LifeSciCoP is to tackle barriers to gender equality that are common at the member institutions; learn from different European and Institutional context; implement measures at member institutions; and disseminate learning outcomes, results, and best practices to the wider research community.


The LifeSciCoP will specifically promote and apply effective methods to
• increase awareness for unconscious bias,
• overcome resistance to Gender Equality,
• include gender aspects in evaluation processes.

Main language: 
Date of creation: 
Monday, July 1, 2019
Member institutions: 

Agencia Estatal Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, M.P. (CSIC), Spain
Banat's University of Agricultural Sciences and Veterinary Medicine "King Michael I of Romania" from Timișoara (USAMVBT), Romania
Berlin Institute of Health (BIH), Germany
Centro Andaluz de Biología del Desarrollo (CABD), Spain
Institut d'Investigació Biomédica de Bellvitge (IDIBELL), Spain
Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia (IBEC), Spain
Institute for Health Science Research Germans Trias i Pujol (IGTP), Spain
Institute of Evolutionary Biology, Pompeu Fabra University (IBE-UPF), Spain
Instituto de Technologia Quimica y Biologica Antonio Xavier (ITQB-NOVA), Portugal
Fundació Institut de Recerca Biomèdica (IRB Barcelona), Spain
Universitat Pompeu Fabra (UPF), Spain
University of the West of England Bristol (UWE Bristol), UK

Geographic coverage: 
Thematic coverage: 
Challenging stereotypes
Disciplinary and organizational cultures
Assessment of excellence
Biological sciences
Basic medicine
Contact person: 

Natalia Dave Coll (natalia.dave@crg.eu) and Sonja Reiland (sonja.reiland@crg.eu)